"Got lots of friends who'll float away,
Past this very special day,
Wearing ugly outfits that we can't even keep,
We're all out of the cup we were left to steep,

Walking to a chorus of cellphones,
Guess what's on my mind?
Once this is all over I know how I'll spend my time,

Graduation cheesecake,
Graduation cheesecake,

Some girl up front is giving a speech,
All I see is the cake I'm about to reach,
Caps and tassels are so old hat,
Just right to left then they're tossed in the vat,

Shaking hands with the big league tricksters,
Guess what's on my mind?
Once this is all over I know how I'll spend my time,

Graduation cheesecake,
Graduation cheesecake, (x2)"

I wrote and first recorded this the day after I attended my highschool graduation ceremony. In a spiritual sense this was my last highschool Soundcloud demo. The whole thing's a little bittersweet self-reminder that most of school wasn't even a blip on the radar for me regardless of how much it should or shouldn't have been. I was sat next to a bunch of people I barely knew at all who were talking about how they couldn't wait to play Fortnite when everything was all over with, so that got me thinking 'What am I going to do when all this is over? Oh shit, my mom promised me she'd buy me a cheesecake. Nice.'

'We're all out of the cup we were left to steep' means to me that we were all out of the cup of knowledge we were left to steep in. 'Walking to a chorus of cellphones' refers to when I was walking past a bunch of people watching historical moments of their lives through a screen rather than with their own eyes. 'Caps and tassels are so old hat, just right to the left then they're tossed in the vat' refers to old hat tricks meant to wow people that've run their course and the tradition of turning one's tassel from left to right upon graduation. A year or so after I graduated my little brother ended up ripping up my tassel so now it's just a bunch of different string. All I still care about is having my highschool diploma around for the practicality of it more than anything.

Original Soundcloud Version Bandcamp Version