(These lyrics aren't as they appear in the song but they're how they were written while I was performing it.)

"Red and blue,
I stepped on mines for you,
Damn near lost in a ray of white,
Men in suits,
They saw a sum,
Don't see blood,
Just zeroes and ones,

They say I'm warm,
But I'm sitting in the street,
They don't know,

Half your check goes to bottlecaps,
For rippin' dark liquid to shreds,
Melanin,
They want blood for anyone,
Who carries a lick in their skin,

They say I'm warm,
But I'm sitting in the street,
They don't know,

I got my neighbor's gun to my head,
Took no thought,
Damn lucky that it jammed,
Brisk walk before it set in,
I'd have had my brains in a garbage bin,
A garbage bin of all things,"

One day I was heading home from school and I met some homeless dude who felt like talking to me about his time in Iraq, his opinion on FEMA camps, the time he almost shot himself but the gun jammed, his katana that he keeps in the sewers, and the time he stepped on a mine yet somehow survived. When we finished talking he told me to call him 'Ghost' before I walked off. He was a real character. My older brother happened to have a song called 'Name Upon A Wall' that he still plays to this day about some homeless vet he met and talked to once. Since I'd just had a diet soda version of the experience he had I thought it'd be fun to make my little diet soda version. 

'Half your check goes to bottlecaps' means the military tax budget that was going into the Iraq war looking for oil indirectly caused the production of a bunch of plastic bottlecaps. Oil, a dark liquid, is being torn to shreds to make a bunch of single use stuff that gets immediately thrown away. 'Melanin, they want blood for anyone who carries a lick in their skin' is pretty self explanatory if you already know that melanin is what makes people's hair and skin black/darker. The U.S. doesn't have the best track record when it comes to avoiding colonialist interactions with non-white countries.

https://soundcloud.com/owenlarkin/ghosts-song-demo